Surrounded by the Cathedral and other various archways, the Plaza de Armas boasts a beautiful bronze fountain with three plates, crowned with the statue of a soldier from the sixteenth century. It said that this figure is called the ?Tuturutu?, who, according to history, was responsible for the information of new events. Around the plaza three main archways made from granite, brick and lime can be found: the Portal del Cabildo (Portal de la Municipalidad), the Portal de las Delicias (Portal del San Agustin) and the Portal del Regocijo (Portal de Flores).
The cathedral is located in the Plaza de Armas, so large that it takes over one whole side of the square. Constructed from ashlar and built in a neo-Rennaissance style, with two towers and a stylised Gothic vault, it is one of the 70 churches in the whole world allowed to wave the flag of the Vatican. It was originally built in 1656, but a great fire in 1844 and earthquakes that shook the area forced the church to be rebuilt but with more splendor. The inside of the church is decorated with a large lamp of Sevillian bronze, marble from Carrara and a carved French pulpit by the artist Rigor. The organ, of Belgian origin, is one of the biggest in South America.
This is a picturesque area located 2km away from the main town (about 8 minutes by car, crossing the Chili River by the Grau Bridge).
The Church of Saint John the Baptist (San Juan Batista, build in 1750), is located in front of a pleasant small plaza, and was built with Baroque style architecture with many images of the Virgin del Rosario.
The Mirador de Yanahuara was built in the nineteenth century, and consists of a series of ashlar arches upon which the words of famous Arequipenos are inscribed. From here you can also see the entire city and the imposing Misti volcano which can be appreciated even more with clear skies.
This construction is composed of several buildings, erected by the Jesuits, and forms a monument that represents the religious architecture of the 17th century (1660). In the middle of the construction the temple can be found. The Iglesia de la Compania was built in 1573 by Gaspar Baez, was destroyed in 1584 by an earthquake and rebuilt in 1650. It contains approximately 66 paintings from the Cusco School of Painting, by artists such as Bernardo Bitti and Diego de la Puente. The entire building is made from ashlar.
This is considered the ?garden city? due to its large amount of parks and massive trees that harmonise with the modern houses in the area. Here, a monument has been erected in honour of Juan Pablo Vizcardo and Gúzman, the harbinger of independence. Also here you can find the Molina de Santa Catalina, fully restored, and located on the pier of Selva Alegre.
San Lazaro, according to tradition, was originally founded as the city of Arequipa. This town of narrow streets, passages, small squares and large houses is the area that most represents old Arequipa. It boasts a small bridge that connects la Ermita and its small square with the rest of the district.